Duke basketball: Coach K, Johnny Dawkins named to CBB Hall of Fame

Duke basketball legends Mike Krzyzewski and Johnny Dawkins (Brian Bahr/ Allsport)
Duke basketball legends Mike Krzyzewski and Johnny Dawkins (Brian Bahr/ Allsport) /

A pair of Duke basketball icons are heading to the National Collegiate Hall of Fame. 

The time has come for former Duke basketball head coach Mike Krzyzewski to finally be inducted to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame after he was a member of the founding class in 2006.

Krzyzewski will formally be enshrined into eternity on August 30 as he ended his coaching career in 2021 with the Blue Devils after 47 years as a head coach between Duke and Army.

The Naismith Hall of Famer ended his career with 1,202 — the most in NCAA history — along with five National Championships and 12 National Coach of the Year awards.

Coach K was able to guide the Blue Devils to 13 appearance in the Final Four, 15 ACC Tournament Championships, and 14 ACC regular season titles.

Former Duke basketball head coach with company going into Hall of Fame

Mike Krzyzewski will not be lonely officially entering the Hall of Fame as he will be joined by his former player and assistant coach Johnny Dawkins.

Dawkins, the current coach of Central Florida, got his start in coaching in 1998 with the Blue Devils under Krzyzewski and remained with the program until 2008 when he was offered the head coaching job with the Stanford Cardinal.

During his time at Duke, Johnny Dawkins was named as the Naismith Player of the Year in 1986 and a two-time consensus first-team All-American in 1985 and 1986, in which he was also named to the First Team All-ACC in those years.

ALSO READ: Dereck Lively gives bold prediction on upcoming season

Dawkins was named as a Second Team All-ACC selection in 1983 and 1984 to begin his college career.

The Washington, D.C. native finished his Duke career with 2,556 points – which was the school’s scoring record until JJ Redick surpassed the mark in 2006.

However, it still stands at second all-time and Dawkins’ No. 24 is retired and hangs in the rafters of Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Mike Krzyzewski and Johnny Dawkins join Chuck Daly, who was also a member of the founding class in 2006, Dick Groat, Charles ‘Lefty’ Driesell, Vic Bubas, Christian Laettner, Grant Hill, Jason Williams, and Shane Battier as Blue Devils in the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Next. Duke center nearly helps franchise hit NBA jackpot. dark