Ranking all 36 Duke basketball jersey numbers ever worn

Duke basketball (Photo by Lance King/Getty Images)
Duke basketball (Photo by Lance King/Getty Images) /
17 of 37
Duke basketball
Duke basketball mascot (Photo by Lance King/Getty Images) /

Pick Analysis. NOT RETIRED. 21. player. Scouting Report. 22 PLAYERS. Jersey No. 20. 434

Judging jersey No. 20 by the Duke basketball players who wore it

In reverse chronological order (best in bold):

  • Marques Bolden
  • Semi Ojeleye
  • Andre Dawkins
  • Elliot Williams
  • Taylor King
  • Casey Sanders
  • D. Bryant
  • Mike Chappell
  • Chris Collins
  • Gene Banks
  • Dave O’Connell
  • Larry Saunders
  • Dave Golden
  • Denny Ferguson
  • Jack Mullen
  • Larry Bateman
  • Dick Rosenthal
  • Bernie Janicki
  • Jim Kulpan
  • Buck Cheek
  • Bill Fleming
  • Pat Lyons

Retired or not (worth 100 points if so): Not

NCAA Tournament titles (worth 10 points each): Dawkins in 2010, Sanders in 2001

Final Four appearances (five points each): Dawkins in 2010, Sanders in 2001, Bryant in 1999, Collins in 1994, Banks in 1978, Ferguson in 1964, Ferguson in 1963

ACC or Southern Tournament trophies (five points each): Bolden in 2019, Bolden in 2017, Dawkins in 2011, Dawkins in 2010, Williams in 2009, Sanders in 2003, Sanders in 2002, Sanders in 2001, Sanders in 2000, Bryant in 1999, Banks in 1980, Banks in 1978, Ferguson in 1964, Ferguson in 1963, Mullen in 1960

Naismith Player of the Year awards (50 points each): None

NABC Defensive Player of the Year winners (four points each): None

Consensus All-American selections (four points each): None

ACC or Southern Player of the Year crowns (four points each): None

All-ACC or All-Southern honors (two points each): Collins in 1996, Banks in 1981, Banks in 1980, Banks in 1979, Banks in 1978

First-round draft picks (two points each): Williams in 2010 (guess we’ll count it even though he transferred from Duke beforehand)

Members of 1,000-point club (two points each): Dawkins, Collins, Banks, Janicki

Players who averaged less than five points (subtract five points each): Bolden, Ojeleye, Williams, King, Sanders, Bryant, O’Connell, Mullen, Bateman, Rosenthal, Kulpan, Cheek, Lyons

Number of players (one point each): 22